Kern Westerberg

Kern Westerberg is a young violinist, who has established himself among Denmark's most promising talents on the classical scene. He is quickly building a reputation as a soloist and chamber musicians, which has brought him all over Europe.

Kern Westerberg, born in Aarhus, Denmark in 1993, began studying the violin at age 4. He attended Aarhus Music School, under Jan Matthiesen and Kristoffer Dolatko, and continued his studies with Prof. Per Enoksson at the prestigious Royal College of Music, Edsberg Manor in Stockholm.

Kern is currently studying with Prof. Serguei Azizian at the Royal Danish Academy of Music. He has participated in Masterclass's, among others given by: Leonidas Kavakos, Dora Schwarzberg, Rudolf Koelman, Henning Kraggerud, Ulf Wallin and Milan Vitek.

Kern Westerberg is a prize winner in many competitions, national as well as international. Among his awards is 1st prize and "Grand Prize" for an extraordinary performance in the Jacob Gade Violin Competition, 2010; Gold medal in the Berlingske Tidendes Classical Music Competition, 2010; and 1st prize in the most prestigious Danish youth competition: “Spil For Livet 2011" (produced for the Danish Broadcasting Company).

Kern Westerberg performed as a soloist with the Danish National Symphony Orchestra at age 12, and since then with the Danish National Chamber Orchestra, Aarhus Symphony Orchestra, Symphony Orchestra of the Royal College of Music in Stockholm, Danish National Youth Ensemble, Edsberg Chamber Orchestra, as well as many amateur and semiprofessional orchestras, including several concerts broadcast live on national radio and TV.

Kern Westerberg has appeared in numerous festivals as a soloist and chamber musician, such as Hindsgavl Festival, Vendsyssel Festival, Frederiksværk Musikfestival, Musethica International Chamber music Festival, Sandviken Chamber music Festival and Trondheim Chamber music Festival.

He has performed with musicians such as: Máté Szücs, Mats Zetterqvist, Konstantin Bogino, Daniel Blumenthal and Katrine Gislinge.

Kern Westerberg plays a G.Grancino 1697, on loan from the Augustinus Foundation. 

Kern press 4
Kern press 3
Kern press 2
Kern press 1

Program - III

-L.Janácek(1854-1928): Violin Sonata

-C.Nielsen(1865-1931): Violin Sonata nr2

-J.Brahms(1933-1997): Violin Sonata nr1 i G-dur 

© 2017 Roca Group Music Agency

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon